‘Like Dickens, but more political’ – reading Les Mis (or not)

I still haven’t finished Hugo’s Les Misérables – and I started it when I was about 13, in the original French (which was, come to think of it, a bit too ambitious for my pre-GSCE lexicon). I do intend to finish it, really I do – and I should, being such a fan of the musical (and now Tom Hooper’s film). You can read my thoughts on both in this piece I wrote for York-based zine One&Other: http://archive.oneandother.com/articles/les-mis-and-me/

My copy of Les Mis

My neat, unthumbed copy of Les Mis

Leave a Reply

